Summer Challenge

Hey guys! Did you ever take the time to realize how bad bottled water is for the environment? Well, your summer challenge is to try to drink tap water as much as possible. Take a look at this email from my friend Amelia. Please note that she has already reached her goal of sign ups, and there are no more spots available, but that doesn’t mean you can’t still do the challenge!


Hi Everyone!

Long story short, I’ll be going to India this summer. While I’m there, I won’t be able to drink tap water. This is hard for me because I’m a “tapwaterian” (I don’t drink bottled water). So, I’m trying to get people to pledge to not drink bottled water to make up for me having to drink it. This is not a life time commitment (although it can be!). I’m asking friends and family to sign up not to drink bottled water once or twice. Here is more information and where you can sign up: Link

Some families have already signed up. You can choose just to do this, or have your full family participate. Please take a look.
Amelia

Notice: This email was edited and tweaked by me, Avalon Blumenthal. It is pretty much the same thing, except I took out a few words. Please take time to think about this and do the challenge!


Not sure if you want to sign up for the pledge? Here are some reasons!


Why Should You Take the Pledge?

In America, people are buying 500,000,000 bottles a week, and according to The Story of Bottled Water (2010), there are enough plastic bottles to circle the world more than five times. This research occurred seven years ago, so the amount of bottled water bought has most likely increased.

“Each year making the plastic water bottles used in the U.S. takes enough oil and energy to fuel a million cars. All that energy to make the bottle, even more to ship it around the planet, and then we drink it in about two minutes?” says Annie Leonard in The Story of Stuff’s 2010 video, The Story of Bottled Water. In California, most of our tap water is clean and filtered, so why aren’t people using it? Studies show that many people like bottled water because it is cheap, convenient, and easy to find when in public. But, the majority of taste tests finds that people prefer tap water over bottled water.

To read even more on bottled water, click on this link for an argumentative essay. If it asks for you to request access, press the request access button, and I will allow you view it when I receive the notification. Link to Why Bottled Water Should be Banned in the United States

Message in a Bottle

Ever since my third grade project on bottled water, I have been a “tapwaterian”. A “tapwaterian” is the same concept as a vegetarian, but instead is someone who drinks only tap water, and not bottled water. However, I won’t been able to have the same dedication as vegetarians do. This summer, I’ll be traveling to India, where bottled water is essential to Americans. Drinking tap water in India can lead to fatal diseases for me, so I will be forced to increase my “bottled water footprint”. We are incredibly lucky to have the ability to drink tap water in America, and it’s important to say no to the bottled water; the money consuming, environment trashing, and global warming contributor.

     In the 27 days I’ll be India, I will use 3 gallons of water a day, including brushing my teeth, washing produce, drinking, or anything that will cause me to consume water. I am asking friends and family to say no to bottled water whenever they get the chance, at least once. If you ever have the option between tap and bottled, pick tap, to help me not increase my bottled water footprint. At the pool, at a party, or even at home, take the extra minute to fill up a water bottle, or find a drinking fountain. You are making a difference in the community, environment, and world. Thank you!

-Amelia


Notice: These are the exact words of Amelia.      

One thought on “Summer Challenge

  1. I will definitely think about doing this challenge. I think that this is a great idea to help the environment!

Leave a comment